Web Sites, Documents and Articles >> Hartford Courant News Articles >

Bulkeley Students Receive Scholarships

July 15, 2006
Report By Courant Staff

Three Bulkeley High School students have received Ivan A. Backer Scholarships, offered by Southside Institutions Neighborhood Alliance. Backer served as president of the alliance for nearly 20 years and is the organization's education consultant.

The scholarship winners, who will receive $800 a year for each of the four years they are in college, are Zulynette Morales, Shaneca C. Napier and Bayron Rodriguez.

Morales, who holds numerous scholastic awards, is a member of the National Honor Roll and plans to attend the University of Tampa.

Napier, who was awarded the United States American Achievement Award, is part of Who's Who Among American High School Students, serves as a volunteer at YO Hartford and plans to attend the University of Connecticut.

Rodriguez, who received Mass Mutual Academic Achiever and Academic Excellence awards, has volunteered as a lifeguard for four years, teaches students how to swim and plans to attend the University of Connecticut.

Also, in celebration of its 24th annual Scholar of the Month program, the alliance honored 34 students from Hartford schools during an awards ceremony at the Greater Hartford Jaycees Community Boathouse at Riverside Park earlier this month.

The students, recognized for their academic achievements throughout the year and for motivating other students, include: Chasity C. Canino, Rudolph B. Cowan, Katerine Quintana, Omar Mantilla, Amanda Martinez, Amelia Redding, Alisha Soto and Edwin Vargas Jr. from A.I. Prince Technical High School; Refije Deda, Donias Doko, Kishana Jumpp, Jennifer Kelley, Yuk Ting Li, Begaeta Nukic, Gledis Progonati and Linda Valentin from Bulkeley High School; Evebonee Acosta, Jeffrey Gillespie, Linnea Ionno, Kayla Johnson, Thao Nguyen, Melissa Rodriguez, Rose Swaim and Neftali Torres from Hartford Public High School; Elena Mendez and Kayla J. Stephenson from Sports Science-Medical Academy; and Elma Acosta, Britney Chung, Annmarie Clarke, Michele Delgado, Taneka Heron, Ashantee Hyman, Vanessa Mayuri and Renee Thompson from Weaver High School.

The alliance's community and youth development committee collaborates with guidance counselors at each of the high schools to determine the winners.

Reprinted with permission of the Hartford Courant. To view other stories on this topic, search the Hartford Courant Archives at http://www.courant.com/archives.
| Last update: September 25, 2012 |
Powered by Hartford Public Library  

Includes option to search related Hartford sites.

Advanced Search
Search Tips

Can't Find It? Have a Question?