Web Sites, Documents and Articles >> Real Hartford  News Articles >

Thirty-Eight Nominees for Teacher of the Year in Hartford

By Kerri Provost

March 24, 2012

The Hartford Schools’ Teacher of the Year will be announced on May 24th at a banquet in the Marriott, but first, the list needs to be narrowed. David Medina explains that each nominated teacher will “undergo an intensive screening and interview process conducted by a special district-wide Teacher of the Year committee made up of Hartford Public School curriculum directors, officials from the Hartford Federation of Teachers and former winners of the event.”

The next step, he said, is for the committee to narrow the field to three finalists, who will be video-taped at their respective schools. They will then be “asked to complete a series of written essay questions,” Medina said.

This year’s nominees are:

Autumn Baltimore – Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy

Beth Bashir – Naylor/CCCSU Leadership Academy

Heidi Bothameley – High School, Inc.

Irma Carrillo – Kinsella Magnet School of Performing Arts

Lisa Clayton – Martin Luther King Jr. School

Vernell Cohen – Simpson-Waverly Elementary School

Maribel Corbett – Bulkeley Lower School

Robert Field – McDonough Expeditionary Learning School

Megan Fitzgerald – Journalism & Media Academy

Christine Gauthier-Shackford – Global Communications Academy

Kevin Geissler – Clark Elementary School

Carol Gilberty-Rimondi – Maria Sanchez Elementary School

John Griffin – Pathways to Technology

Margaret S. Haeflich – Latino Studies Academy @ Burns School

Jasmin Harding – Dwight/Bellizzi Asian Studies Academy

Jennifer Higgins – Nursing Academy

Danielle Hodge – Kennelly Elementary School

Irene Killian – University High School of Science & Engineering

Ashley LaParre – Renzulli Gifted and Talented Academy

Marianne Lizotte – Noah Webster MicoSociety Magnet School

Brian Morin – Expeditionary Learning Academy @ Moylan

William Morrison – Academy of Engineering and Green Technology

Lynne Reznick – Classical Magnet

Miriam Rodriguez – CommPACT School @ M.D. Fox

Ana Roman – Core Knowledge Academy @ Milner School

Jessica Sartori – Batchelder Elementary School

Keith Sevigny – STEM Magnet School @ Annie Fisher

Michael Sposito – Environmental Sciences Magnet School @ Mary Hooker

Kerry Swistro – Bulkeley Upper School

Kelly Taylor – Burr Elementary

Courtney Thomson – Breakthrough II

Christine Tofil – Culinary Arts Academy

Miriam Vazquez – Breakthrough Magnet

Maria Velazquez – America’s Choice @ SAND School

Judith Weiner – Rawson Elementary

Barbara Wolejko – Early Reading Lab @ Ramon E. Betances School

Mary Cavallo – West Middle School

Sherri Ziplow – Wish Elementary School

Reprinted with permission of Kerri Provost, author of the blog RealHartford. To view other stories on this topic, search RealHartford at http://www.realhartford.org/.
| Last update: September 25, 2012 |
Powered by Hartford Public Library  

Includes option to search related Hartford sites.

Advanced Search
Search Tips

Can't Find It? Have a Question?